List of universities in Bangladesh

Universities in Bangladesh are mainly categorized into three different types — Public (government owned and subsidized), Private (private sector owned universities), and International (operated and funded by international organizations such as the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation).

Click Here for Another List of universities in Bangladesh

List of universities in Bangladesh

Click and go to the Website of the University below

Public universities:

01. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU)

02. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University (BSMRAU)

03. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU)

04. Bangladesh Agricultural University (BAU)

05. Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET)

06. Bangladesh University of Professionals (BUP)

07. Bangladesh University of Textiles (BUTex)

08. Barisal University (BU)

09. Begum Rokeya University (BRU)

10. Chittagong University of Engineering & Technology (CUET)

11. Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University (CVASU)

12. Comilla University (UC)

13. Dhaka University of Engineering & Technology (DUET)

14. Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science & Technology University (HSTU)

15. Islamic University (IU)

16. Jagannath University (JNU)

17. Jahangirnagar University (JU)

18. Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University (KNU)

19. Jessore Science & Technology University (JSTU)

20. Khulna University of Engineering & Technology (KUET)

21. Khulna University (KU)

22. Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University (MBSTU)

23. Noakhali Science and Technology University (NSTU)

24. Pabna University of Science and Technology (PUST)

25. Patuakhali Science and Technology University (PSTU)

26. Rajshahi University of Engineering & Technology (RUET)

27. Rajshahi University (RU)

28. Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST)

29.Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University (SAU)

30. Sylhet Agricultural University (SAU)

31. University of Chittagong (CU)

32. University of Dhaka (DU)


Special universities:

01. Bangladesh National University (NU)

02. Bangladesh Open University (BOU)


Private universities

01.International Islamic University, Chittagong (VIIUC)

02. Begum Gulchemonara Trust University Bangladesh (BGCTUB)

03. East Delta University(EDU)

04. Premier University, Chittagong (PU)

05. Southern University, Bangladesh (SUB)

06. University of Science & Technology Chittagong (USTC)

07. Ahsanullah University of Science and Technology (AUST)

08. American International University-Bangladesh (AIUB)

09. Asian University of Bangladesh (AUB)

10. Asa University Bangladesh (ASAUB)

11. Atish Dipankar University of Science and Technology (ADUST)

12. Bangladesh Islami University (BIU)

13. America Bangladesh University (ABU)

14. Bangladesh University (BU)

15. Bangladesh University of Business and Technology (BUBT)

16. BRAC University (BRACU)

17. Central Women’s University (CWU) 2

18. City University, Bangladesh (CUB) 3

19. Daffodil International University (DIU)

20. Darul Ihsan University (DIU)

21. Dhaka International University (DIntU)

22. Eastern University, Bangladesh (EU)

23. East West University (EWU)

24. European University (EUB)

25. Gono Bishwabidyalay (GB) 4

26. Green University of Bangladesh (GUB)

27. IBAIS University (IU)

28. Independent University, Bangladesh (IUB)

29. International University of Business Agriculture and Technology (IUBAT)

30. Manarat International University (MIU)

31. The Millennium University (TMU)

32. Northern University, Bangladesh (NUB)

33. North South University (NSU)

34. People’s University of Bangladesh (PUB)

35. Presidency University (PU

36. Prime University (PU)

37. Primeasia University (PAU) 7

38. Queens University (QU)

39. Royal University of Dhaka (RUD) 9

40. Shanto-Mariam University of Creative Technology (SMUCT)

41. Southeast University (SEU)

42. Stamford University Bangladesh (SU)

43. State University of Bangladesh (SUB)

44. United International University (UIU)

45. University of Asia Pacific (Bangladesh) (UAP)

46. University of Development Alternative (UODA)

47. University of Information Technology and Sciences (UITS)

48. University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh (ULAB)

49. University of South Asia, Bangladesh (USAB) 11

50. Uttara University (UU)

51. Victoria University of Bangladesh (VUB)

52. World University of Bangladesh (WUB)

53. Pundra University of Science and Technology (PUST)

54. Leading University (LU)

55. Metropolitan University (MU)

56. Sylhet International University (SIU)


List of universities in Bangladesh

List of universities in Bangladesh

List of universities in Bangladesh

List of universities in Bangladesh

List of universities in Bangladesh

List of universities in Bangladesh

University of Dhaka, established in 1921, is the oldest university of the country. Bangladeshi universities are affiliated with the University Grants Commission (UGC), a commission created according to the Presidential Order (P.O. No 10 of 1973) of the Government of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh.

The list is classified by the three types universities further segmented according to their locations. The locations are given according to divisions, the topmost administrative unit in Bangladesh. It is notable that, out of the 6 divisions Dhaka Division houses 58 out of a total of 87, of them 52 in Dhaka, the capital city. Most universities focus on general studies, meaning a diverse mix of curriculum, business studies, engineering or technology. Seven universities have specialized curricula focused on Islamic studies, agricultural sciences, medical sciences, Veterinary and women’s studies (1). Along with the universities their short names, mostly acronyms, are provided as nicks.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *